Begin By Taking a Rest

I have always understood Sabbath as the day off one takes after 6 days of work.

Recently, I notice as I read my Bible that Sabbath was Adam’s first day because he was created on day six. So he was taking a rest, enjoying God and enjoying the garden before he started to take up his assignment on the first day of the second week.

I know lots of people who struggle to take a rest and time off. I believe it has something to do with the way they were raised as well as their personality. I am the kind who can take a rest after I feel I have done enough – a feeling that never comes easily I must admit.

With this new perspective, one must understand that rest is not a reward. It is not something you get after paying the price. It is a requirement in order for you to be effective – especially when it comes to working with and / or for God.

The Bible says “be still and know that I am God”. You must do it if you are to experience God in his fullness – who He is and what He can do through and for you. After being in the ministry for several years now, in many occasions I find myself running from one activities to another; losing sight of the big picture; always searching but never satisfied. Moving to a different type of minstry, department or even location thinking if it is not here, it must be somewhere.

I understand now that a big part of the problem is that I never took the time to be with God and seek for his heart first before taking the assignment, the job or the ministry.

Sabbath is not just a good advice or a better option from God, it is one of the ten commandmant. But please do not see it as a reward you get after working hard but see it as a time you invest in the presence of God in order for you to really live your life and your ministry with the fullness of God and his power.

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

