I want to be remembered for something

One beautiful think I take from my time with Youth With A Mission (YWAM) is identity. I am who God says I am. I am not what people think I am; I am not even who I think I am. I am who God says I am. This revelation has helped me to be free. You live your life and express yourself in such freedom when you do not waste energy worrying about the opinion of others.

I read in my Bible, Jesus asking his disciple “who do people say that I am?” He was not asking because he was insecure in his identity. It is possible that He was asking in order to get the disciple to think about who He really is?

While I am enjoying the freedom of having my identity in Christ, asking the question of Jesus has helped me to think and evaluate my life. What am I known for? What kind of image am I projecting as missionary, as a husband and father?

Being a missionary, you want to serve and offer yourself for the sake of the kingdom. If you are not careful, before you know it, you are overwhelmed with solving problems after problems; dealing with needs after needs. You end up being everywhere and doing everything and yet going nowhere and accomplishing nothing.

The word of Jesus has helped me to regain my focus back. What do I want to be known for now? What do I want to be remembered for when I leave? Am I doing what God has called me to do? What legacy am I leaving behind?

As we are getting ready to face a new week, maybe this is a good time to back up a little bit and make sure we release our energy where it really needs to go. Let’s learn to be a true disciple of Jesus and live our life with the proper focus.

Have a blessed week.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

